99.3 County FM Teams Up With Back Forty Productions to Produce New Covid-Safe Format for Radiothon

Prince Edward County: May 28th 2020, 11:15am

99.3 County FM Teams Up With Back Forty Productions to Produce New Covid-Safe Format for Radiothon 2020, June 25 to 28, Dr. Elizabeth Christie Named Radiothon Honourary Chair

99.3 County FM, Prince Edward County’s member-owned, volunteer operated, not-for-profit community radio station, today announced that Dr. Elizabeth Christie will be this year’s Honourary Chair for the station’s Radiothon, scheduled for June 25 to 28.

The annual Radiothon, which raises funds to keep the station growing and on the air, has been switched to a slightly different format this year. While the four-day fundraising celebration will still feature performances by more than 40 local artists, the performances will be a mix of live in-studio performances and a collection of pre-recorded sets produced in a Covid-safe environment at Back 40 Productions on Highway 49.

Honourary Chair Dr. Elizabeth Christie stated, “County FM has been a great asset to the community during the Covid-19 crisis, not just for getting people accurate and timely information about how to deal with the pandemic, but also for keeping spirits up, and keeping people connected during this time of isolation.” Dr Christie is the lead physician of the Prince Edward Family Health Organization, and is the co- director of the PEC Covid Assessment Centre together with Dr Sarah Le Blanc.

Station General Manager Craig Mills stated, “Our goal, throughout this trying time, has been to keep the station safely on the air, to entertain and to inform people.  Our newsteam and the on-air hosts work together to ensure information about the pandemic is accurate and practical. The way our many volunteers and the core support staff have responded to this new normal—including remote broadcasting from home, thanks to the generosity of donors—has been inspiring.”

County FM Board Chair Jim J.J. Johnston added, “We are honoured that Dr. Christie has joined the Radiothon Team as Honourary Chair. Dr. Christie has been an inspiration throughout this crisis, and has shown a level of professionalism in her work that we at County FM aspire to every day. We are an essential service, never more so than in these past four months. We need your support more than every right now.”

Scheduled performers to date for Radiothon 2020: Aaron Nash, Annelise Norohna, Astrid Young, Becky Elliott, Ben Vandergaast, Bill McBurney, Bill Wood, Brian Legere, Craig Foster, Cue The Funk, Dan Dayton, David James Allen, Deb O Connor, Emily Fennel, Gavin Massey, Grace Bongard, Greg Hinde, Instant Rivalry, Jenica Rayne, Jeremy Kelly, Jordan Thomas (Moon Sugar), Kashka, Lenni Stewart, Lindsay Ferguson, Mike Farrell, Norris and Jones, Peter Rae, Rita Di Ghent, Robert Keyes, Robyn Scott, Scott Maybee, Seventh Town, Spring Awakening Cast, Telegraph Narrows, The Frere Brothers, The Kitchen Family, Tony Forbes, and Travis Hammel (list subject to change).

Donations throughout the four day Radiothon broadcast can be made online at www.993countyfm.ca or by phone at 1-855-Get-2-993  (1-855-438-2993).

For more information, contact:  Craig Mills, 613-476-2229, gm@993countyfm.ca

© 2020 Milk-E-Media / MilkmanUnLimited.com - All rights reserved.